Florida FR44 insurance is a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate, which is required when a person is convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI). After sentencing, the driver must file an FR44, which provides the minimum amount of insurance coverage (100/300/50).
The State of Florida and Virginia require FR44 Insurance to be purchased before they’ll reinstate your driving privileges. The objective of this requirement is to make people think twice before driving under the influence. Aside from the suspension of the driver’s license, drivers guilty of DUI or DWI automatically have their insurance rates increased over the next 5 years. The Florida FR44 is in addition to the usual penalties one must pay for; i.e. fines, license suspension, and jail time.
The Florida FR44 Insurance Policy is a requirement if convicted of the following crimes:
- Caught driving under the influence of drugs or intoxicants.
- Caught driving while the driver’s license has been suspended due to a conviction.
- Caught driving while the driver’s license has been suspended due to finding of not innocent (juvenile cases).
- Caught maiming under the influence of drugs or intoxicants.
- Violation of the general provisions of any federal law of the State, or any local ordinance related to any of the above mentioned.
Additionally, with DUI conviction, it will also become more expensive to get other forms of insurances like Life and Medical Disability Insurance.
Automatic Increase in Insurance Premiums with Florida FR44 Insurance
If caught and convicted of a DUI, your auto insurance premiums within the State of Florida will increase automatically. The increase could reach up to 200% to 300% from the amount you were paying before your arrest. Additionally, the insurance company has the choice to cancel or not renew your auto insurance coverage. This will automatically increase premium rates if you contact other insurance companies for quotes.
A lot of convicted drunk drivers find their insurance premium increased so high that it is simply impossible to pay or maintain. Florida law states that any lapse in automobile insurance will cause automatic suspension of the driver’s license. Your Florida FR44 Insurance requirement will also be reset to ZERO if you allow your policy to lapse and you’ll have to carry the insurance for an additional 3 years.
High Policy Limits
Florida introduced the FR44 Insurance policy on February of 2008. This certification is similar to SR 22, which was the regular requirement before. There are differences though with SR 22 and FR 44, which include higher liability limits. While a Florida SR22 Insurance policy requires 10/20/10 coverage, a Florida FR44 Insurance policy requires 100/300/50.
In Florida, when arrested and convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol, your license will be suspended through court orders. In order to get your license back, you will be required to get the FR44 and maintain it for 3 years. You can get this form from your insurance agent. Many agents can submit your certificate to the State electronically, which significantly speeds up the process. Once you get this form from your insurance company your status will automatically be changed to high risk, which will cause the premium on your policy to increase.
The FR44 Forms will also require the insurance provider to inform the DHSMV if your insurance policy lapses or becomes canceled.